R Unlimited CZ Forum Index
Donate $5 to get admin level 5 ->    
R Unlimited CZ
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Opinions « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Nod_Nod_Nod
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:29 pm    Post subject: Opinions Reply with quote

Tyrant
Tyrant

Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Posts: 1079
Location: Poland

Here post your opinions for this server.

Robots get 1 cred! Yay...

Its so hard to aim at enemy.
Robots are just clones of humans xD, new layout would be awesome.
Weapons too are same, though its understandable.
Problem is that buildings are so hard to be destroyed (I mean Robots vs Humans)
_________________
The nodding of the head once to symbolize a greeting, cuz we white folk to damn lazy to open our mouths and speak up. Nods are also easier to shake off than a flase "hello".
"Person nods at you", or your direction, "you nod back"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Redman
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Marauder
Marauder

Joined: 03 Apr 2009
Posts: 403
Location: Walbrzych, Poland

1. Xael missile is still very slow.
2. Robots should be able to use human commands (buy,sell,etc.) and human weapon and upgrade names.
3. Layouts should be server-side. Downloading 5-10 mb packs takes too long and is waste of space.
4. Boring robot weapons.
5. Boring robot buildables.
6. Boring robots.
7. Third team is not compatible with custom huds (team scores).
8. Boring robots.
9. Boring robot upgrades.
10. Some three-team maps should be created.

P.S. Boring robots.
_________________
Also known as the invisible man.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rotacak
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 4:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Opinions Reply with quote

Tyrant
Tyrant

Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 1388
Location: Czech Republic

Nod_Nod_Nod wrote:

Robots get 1 cred! Yay...


Fixed.

Nod_Nod_Nod wrote:

Problem is that buildings are so hard to be destroyed (I mean Robots vs Humans)

I decreased building defense multiplier from 3 to 2. Now it should be better.

Redman wrote:

Robots should be able to use human commands (buy,sell,etc.) and human weapon and upgrade names.

Can't, it is binded to team.

Serverside layouts its good idea, but don't know how to merge it with original maps for three teams. With that map maker have to run own server and make layout there, not in radiant.

Redman wrote:

Third team is not compatible with custom huds (team scores).

That is logical.

Redman wrote:

Boring


Did you played 10vs10vs10 or 1vs1vs0? Smile
_________________
Rotaxmame games | Hry zdarma
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
pmd
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Server supporter
Server supporter

Joined: 16 May 2010
Posts: 268
Location: Novorossiysk city, Russian Federation

what kind of robots we need? classic(mechanical+electronics) or may be complex nano structures, may be need robots like a replicators from stargate?

complex nano structures: its intelligent grey_goo, so they can morph like aliens(have classes), will have melee alien forms, humanoid or technological(yay, tank!!!) form for using long-ranged weapons . so buildings and weapons(with class or on base i dunno, need experiments) morphing too, because it contain same nano robots, and ammunition are universal. and best variant for nano 's its one parameter(free nano robots) instead of hp/ammo/creds.

replicators - same with nano's, but their parts are bigger, so no morphing weapons and universal ammunition, no "free parts" - normal tremulous parameters(hp, ammo, creds)
_________________
[quote="Quarko"] If you have time to think about crap - you are not working hard enough.[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redman
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Marauder
Marauder

Joined: 03 Apr 2009
Posts: 403
Location: Walbrzych, Poland

Quote:
Quote:
Third team is not compatible with custom huds (team scores).

That is logical.


Not really. You could force your modified team scores menu through UI code.

Quote:
Quote:
Robots should be able to use human commands (buy,sell,etc.) and human weapon and upgrade names.

Can't, it is binded to team.

Actually, it's trivial. Game code uses CMD_HUMAN flag to check if a command is human-only (g_cmds.c). Define something like CMD_ROBOT, add it to human commands and modify command code to make them function properly for robots.

Quote:
Serverside layouts its good idea, but don't know how to merge it with original maps for three teams. With that map maker have to run own server and make layout there, not in radiant.

Layout related commands should be enough. Don't worry about other servers, I'm pretty sure you won't release source code.
_________________
Also known as the invisible man.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rotacak
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tyrant
Tyrant

Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 1388
Location: Czech Republic

I mean - current HUDs cannot be compatible with this mod. But if you mean something else, like use only this HUD in this mod, then tell me how and I will do that.

CMD_ROBOT it is already there, but I am not sure, if you can bind (in sources) one command to CMD_HUMAN and CMD_ROBOT together. Anyway, item names (rrifle) must be different.

Layout commands are bad. I need to load specified layout allways and automatically.
_________________
Rotaxmame games | Hry zdarma
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Rotacak
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tyrant
Tyrant

Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 1388
Location: Czech Republic

BTW, link to source code added.
_________________
Rotaxmame games | Hry zdarma
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ViruS
PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dretch
Dretch

Joined: 23 Sep 2011
Posts: 26
Location: perth, australia

Redman wrote:

3. Layouts should be server-side. Downloading 5-10 mb packs takes too long and is waste of space.
7. Third team is not compatible with custom huds (team scores).


#3: I 100% agree. I felt like leaving the server just as i connected because i realised had to re-download everymap. Also, when i entered the game - no HUD and no textures (except plants). They were just the first few i noticed as soon as i joined the game.

#7. True. Without my custom HUD from Meis, Tremfusion/Tremulous will NOT work. I've already argued about this on trem forums and pretty much no solution was made.


I'm not sure if you have it on or not, but if you don't, try sv_pure 1 and add the default HUD files in the pk3 and i'd be able to play.

But it doesn't look as boring. Its just the robot-vs-humans is the problem because of damage multipliers and xael is pretty usless againts them. (in my opinion) But i'm happy you've managed this far.
_________________
ULTRA Random ViruS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Rotacak
PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tyrant
Tyrant

Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 1388
Location: Czech Republic

#3 missing textures is map problem, download all maps and should be ok.

sv_pure is 1, but that not affecting HUD files. I don't know how to force my layout yet. On that downloadable client it works ok.

Damage multiplier is needed. Imagine what happen, when you drop nade in enemy R/H base, or shoot there two luci/xael = end.
_________________
Rotaxmame games | Hry zdarma
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Redman
PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Marauder
Marauder

Joined: 03 Apr 2009
Posts: 403
Location: Walbrzych, Poland

Forced team scores menu:
1. Find Menus_FindByName( "teamscore_menu" ); in code (somewhere in cg_draw.c around line 3150) and replace teamscore_menu with "3t_teamscore_menu".
2. Add CG_Load_Menu("3t_teamscore_menu.menu") at end of CG_LoadMenus in cg_main.c around line 1350.
3. Rename team scores menu to 3t_teamscore_menu.menu and change it's internal name to "3t_teamscore_menu" (name keyword in menuDef).

Commands for both humans and robots:
1. Add CMD_ROBOTS to command flags (line around 4500 in g_cmds.c): { "buy", CMD_HUMAN|CMD_ROBOTS|CMD_LIVING, Cmd_Buy_f },
2. Modify commands' code so that they work properly for robots.

Robot layouts:
1. Replace
Code:
if( !level.layout[ 0 ] || !Q_stricmp( level.layout, "*BUILTIN*" ) )
    return;

in g_buildable.c around line 4550 with
Code:
if(!Q_stricmp(level.layout,"*BUILTIN"))
   return;
  if(!level.layout[0])
   strcpy(level.layout,"*3TEAM*");

Game code should now load *3TEAM* layouts by default.
2. Create some *3TEAM* layouts with standard commands.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rotacak
PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tyrant
Tyrant

Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 1388
Location: Czech Republic

Are you sure that "|" in "CMD_HUMAN|CMD_ROBOTS|CMD_LIVING" representing "or"? It is make sense rather like "and".

I will look at that layouts.
_________________
Rotaxmame games | Hry zdarma
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Redman
PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Marauder
Marauder

Joined: 03 Apr 2009
Posts: 403
Location: Walbrzych, Poland

Commands' flags value is an integer. Flags are powers of two and if you look at them in binary numeric system they're a single 1 and a 0 (10, 100, 1000, etc.). Bitwise OR (the | operator) does logical OR on each bit separately. For example:

CMD_HUMAN is 00100000
CMD_LIVING is 01000000
CMD_HUMAN | CMD_LIVING is 1100000 because:

0 or 0 = 0
0 or 1 = 1
1 or 0 = 1
0 or 0 = 0
0 or 0 = 0
0 or 0 = 0
0 or 0 = 0
0 or 0 = 0

So in CMD_HUMAN | CMD_LIVING two digits are 1.
Operator & (bitwise AND) is used to check if an integer has a flag. For example:

CMD_HUMAN | CMD_LIVING is 1100000
CMD_CHEAT is 00000001
(CMD_HUMAN | CMD_LIVING) & CMD_CHEAT is zero because:

1 and 0 = 0
1 and 0 = 0
0 and 0 = 0
0 and 0 = 0
0 and 0 = 0
0 and 0 = 0
0 and 0 = 0
0 and 1 = 0

(CMD_HUMAN | CMD_LIVING) & CMD_HUMAN is CMD_HUMAN because:

1 and 0 = 0
1 and 1 = 1
0 and 0 = 0
0 and 0 = 0
0 and 0 = 0
0 and 0 = 0
0 and 0 = 0
0 and 0 = 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rotacak
PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tyrant
Tyrant

Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 1388
Location: Czech Republic

Well, this make sense. But in function ClientCommand() in g_cmds.c is every command checked for every flags. So in this case you must be ROBOT and HUMAN.
_________________
Rotaxmame games | Hry zdarma
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Redman
PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Marauder
Marauder

Joined: 03 Apr 2009
Posts: 403
Location: Walbrzych, Poland

I didn't notice that. Here's a fix:
http://pastebin.com/0iThkhjt
_________________
Also known as the invisible man.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loldretch
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Server supporter
Server supporter

Joined: 31 Jan 2010
Posts: 84
Location: Ukraine. ex-USSR

Good idea. Did you saw Unvanquished mod?
Seems abandoned http://code.google.com/p/unvanquished/updates/list
can't connect to unvanquished.net/forum/ and unvanquished.einsteinbennyboy.com (links from http://tremulous.net/forum/index.php?topic=9805.270).

I think 3rd race must be like protosses in Starcraft (i dont know them good, but i think their gameplay based on low HP + good shields and special abilities).

Also i think not only 3 teams can fight on one map, it can be just 2 from them (Aliens vs Robots or AvsH or RvsH).
_________________
Quote:
go buy brain, then go buy brain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


DAJ Glass (1.0.8) template by Dustin Baccetti
EQ graphic based off of a design from www.freeclipart.nu
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group